Unexpected Afternoon Melody [Improv Literature]

This week I’ll be writing a small piece based on this writing prompt:

Sit outside for about an hour. Write down the sounds you hear.

So here is Unexpected Afternoon Melody.


You never realize how loud it actually is when you sit in silence. The rest of the world doesn’t stop for your moment of solitude.

Insects keep moving.

The wind keeps blowing.

And your heart keeps beating. Can’t you hear it?

I can hear it all. I can even hear the ticking of the gears and hands in my watch. I sit here, as this hour passes me by. I’m too engulfed in all of what I couldn’t hear before to notice if time is moving quickly or slowly. 

The best part of this hour is the slow and steady pace of my breathing. Even with all that is happening in this silence, I feel at ease as my mind calms itself to meet the serene melody of each and every breath. And in this moment, it is abundantly clear to me that this silent hour is a gift I have, not only to get lost within my thoughts but to have enough time to always find my way out.

One thought on “Unexpected Afternoon Melody [Improv Literature]

Leave a Reply

